What community has changed your life? And why?

I’m curious to hear from y’all.

What communities have brought positive change to your life?

And can you explain how or why it did?

What community has changed your life?

And why?

— Rosie Sherry (@rosiesherry) August 1, 2022

IGN Community is where I spent much of my early years truly getting into the world of message boards/forums. Met endless folks, learned endless things, stayed up far to many nights until 4am talking with people. It was fun, it was a ton of my life. It’s also where I was forced into learning how to host forums so we could splinter off into our own community (which in turn led me to running my own web hosting business until I graduated high school).

Geek Squad forums were life changing for me and many others. It was also one of the hardest parts of leaving Best Buy/Geek Squad after nearly a decade, no more forum access. It was just the ability to interact w/ thousands of other coworkers, across the world, instantly. This was such a foreign concept in 2006 for organizations, and it was also something Best Buy arguably hated for existing due to the security concerns and conversations occurring on a PHPBB forum that IT didn’t own (Eventually that changed a bit) - It was also the culture though, everyone who participated in the forums was part of this amazing club. You became part of something bigger. I was a top 20 poster there with like 20,000 posts when I left the company I think, and it was the ability to use the Community that made me so great at my job, I wasn’t ever the smartest, I just knew how to use the Community to always find the answers. it was rough to give that up.