Hey there, it's Oshyan ("ocean")

Hi folks, my name is Oshyan (pronounced “ocean”), he/him, living in Albany (Berkeley area) in California. I’m passionate about the intersection of technology and human connection, and that’s why I’m here!

I’ve been in the tech industry for 20 years or so, and while my day job is now in real estate, creative and positive uses of technology still inspire me more than anything. So I’ve started working on the tech side of community building over the last year or so, in particular. Prior to that I built or helped build and manage communities either as part of a hobby, or as one part of my job, but this is the first time I’ve focused on the community building itself as the driving force, rather than as more of an extension or expression of some other goal, i.e. a means to an end.

My online community journey began with old-school BBSs as a kid, went through a solid Usenet and IRC phase, and then I got hooked on forums, vB, PHPBB, SMF, etc. until more modern platforms came around. I’ve been following Rosie for a while now and I’m excited to be here! I’m still a big fan of more long-form, asynchronous forum-style community spaces, so I’m glad to see this place being developed.

I greatly appreciate everything Rosie does to foster and support community development, and help out all the people who are creating, managing, and furthering “community” as a whole! Not just in a functional, practical sense (tools, guide, advice, etc.), but also the ongoing explorations of what “community” is and can be and the signal boosting of others doing similar exploration. :smiling_face_with_three_hearts: Rosieland newsletter is a must!

4 Likes

Welcome Oshyan!! Seems like wherever you go in your life, community follows you🎉

What is your favorite community out there?

3 Likes

Hey, thanks for dropping by with your kind and supportive words.

And I feel less old when I’m surrounded by others who have been in tech for 20+ yrs :rofl: